Recently research has shown that business meetings and trainings are increasingly taking place online. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

It is indeed becoming increasingly common for businessmen to organize business gatherings and educational sessions through online platforms instead of face-to-face meetings. While online business sessions could offer some potential benefits to businessmen and those who are taking place in these meetings, I contend that there are a number of possible drawbacks to this new development.There are two obvious advantages to organizing online business gatherings. One of them would be accessibility. This means that online meetings and trainings can allow participants to join from anywhere with a great internet connection, which is a great way to cooperate and contact foreign partners from different countries, even though it is impossible to go to their countries for business purposes. Another unique benefit is that online video sessions and gatherings can easily be recorded for free, which can then be shared with those who could not participate in these gatherings on time or who could not understand the content by watching these trainings only once. Hence, online platforms can offer their users unlimited access to these video contents that can be shared, edited, and presented.

However, I would argue that digital training and sessions could be disadvantageous in some ways. First and foremost, individuals who live in rural areas may find it difficult to participate in online gatherings due to unstable internet connections in their hometowns. The reason is that low internet connections may lead to lagging video or audio, making communication difficult and causing frustration among participants. In addition, working from home or other remote locations can introduce distractions that may impact the effectiveness of the meeting, which means that not all people are able to find places that are suitable to their working environments and far from several distractions, including music, children, and the noise of transportation, that can cause disagreements among the participants.

In conclusion, although businessmen can reap some major benefits from making online business appointments, in my view, this new trend has its downsides that I mentioned above.