Research has shown that the transportation of products and people is the main source of pollution. Some people believe the government should be in charge of this, while others believe that it is the fault of individuals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In contemporary societies, severe pollution usually stems from the free transportation of goods and people’s modern lifestyle. While I accept that the government should be held accountable for this situation, I believe that unregulated individual activities should be blamed for the deterioration of natural environment.

On one hand, the government should be blamed for high levels of pollution for several reasons. Firstly, constant emphasis on economic growth and substantial revenue has made the government turn a blind eye to environmental problems. For example, air travel is not restricted on a large scale as the government relies on the revenue generated by tourism to spur economic development, despite the fact that flights have been notoriously famous for toxic substances emitted from their fossil-fueled engines. Furthermore, overreliance on traditional energy, such as gasoline, has made the transportation of products a main culprit of deteriorated air quality. In some cases, the government would rather divert financial resources to support activities, like space exploration, than to develop clean energy and tackle air pollution.

On the other hand, some argue that individuals should be held responsible for environmental degradation as they do not regulate their personal behaviors to alleviate negative consequences. Personally, I agree with this viewpoint. Individuals nowadays prioritize their personal comfort over reducing carbon footprint. Fine particulate matters, carbon dioxide and other toxic emissions from car engines have implications for natural environment, resulting in haze and global warming. Additionally, the habits of shopping online could further complicate the situation since long-distance transportation of goods could lead to a surge in carbon emissions and deal a blow to the already fragile environment.

To conclude, while it is reasonable to claim that the government bears the responsibility of preserving environment, I reckon that individuals should also be aware of the importance of being eco-responsible citizens and avoid engaging in activities that could have ecological repercussions.