Research indicates that nowadays some consumers are much less influenced by advertising than in the past.What do you think are the reasons for this?Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, studies illustrate that advertisements are becoming less influential in modern consumers than they were previously. This essay will delve into underlying causes of this phenomenon and present it as a negative development due to its detrimental effect on both citizens and enterprises.

To begin with, there are a number of reasons why advertisements have lost their effectiveness in influencing consumers nowadays. First and foremost, consumers have raised their awareness of misleading information often presented in advertising. It is a common practice for advertisers to portray a romantic and exciting life or exaggerate the benefits of certain products through advertising with a view to attracting more potential customers to buy their commodities and boost profit. For example, energy drinks are often marketed on social media as capable of giving the drinker extraordinary strength. However, in reality, they primarily help to quench thirst rather than provide the strength promised in the advertisements, thus consumers might feel disappointed and skeptical toward both brand and advertisement when they experienced this product directly. Consequently, they rely less on advertising when purchasing goods than they did in the past.

Nevertheless, this trend has significant drawbacks for both individuals and corporations. Firstly, citizens who rely on media or content creation for their livelihood may face unemployment. Without advertisements, they could struggle to find a suitable job, as many opportunities in their field depend heavily on advertising revenue and marketing campaigns. Additionally, the reduced impact of advertising on consumers also puts pressure on small businesses. This is because only when these companies have an effective advertising strategy can they approach potential customers which allow them to develop their business operation. Therefore, they may face fierce competition from larger brands that are able to reach customers through multiple channels.

In conclusion, consumer trust is the main reason that leads to decline in advertisement’s impacts. Besides, I believe this change is a negative trend as it can cause job losses for individuals in media and creative industries, as well as create challenges for small businesses.