Schools should not force children to learn a foreign language. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a widespread belief that it is not necessary for schools to apply the compulsory programs of foreign language to children. Personally, I completely agree with this notion and this essay provides a nuanced perspective and presents a comprehensive analysis to support this viewpoint.

One argument in favor of forcing children to learn a foreign language is due to the fact that children are by nature effective language learners as their brains are still under development, thereby enabling them to acquire a foreign language more easily. Besides, learning a language at a very young age allows juveniles to have more time to develop a foreign language until they reach adulthood. However, advocating for this trend can be misguided as it overlooks the fact that acquiring any language requires immersive and engaging environments; however, many schools forcing children to learn a foreign language are unable to offer those types of environments. Consequently, this program could discourage and demotivate young learners because they can not improve their language skills, potentially causing the hatred feeling of learning foreign languages.

Thus, I posit that schools should not apply the mandatory programs of learning a foreign language and juveniles are better positioned to have their autonomy in language learning. Easing the burden of learning a foreign language enables children to have more time for other important subjects such as Math, literature, or sports. Furthermore, if juveniles are given autonomy when it comes to foreign language learning, they will choose to learn from their needs or preferences, erasing any hatred from being forced and giving them more motivation. A compelling illustration of this approach can be observed in Vietnam, where schools have just stopped applying the compulsory program of studying the English language due to its ineffectiveness, allowing children to have more time for their more important subjects and giving them a chance to choose to learn any languages based on their preferences.

In conclusion, while forcing to learn a foreign language may offer the advantage of faster language comprehension, the potential pitfalls of this approach are more significant. Therefore, I advocate for a more free program, allowing juveniles to make their language learning choice.