Schools should not force children to learn a foreign language. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that pupils ought not to be forced to acquire a foreign language at school. Whilst it seems understandable why this is the case, I do believe that students have to be, at least, bilingual due to some obvious grounds.

Firstly, thanks to technological advances in recent years, the world has geared toward becoming a global village, and by considering that, learning a foreign language has become a must. In other words, being a monolingual in this fast-changing world may impact students’ future success adversely.

Secondly, learning another language at school is also cost-effective compared to the tuition fees that majority of private language schools demand which would put a financial strain on many low-income families. Thus, by taking part in the language classes at school, children’s parents may indirectly be the beneficiaries of this scheme in terms of finances.

However, there are parents who object to the enforcement of the learning foreign language in the curriculum owning to not being able to offer any help with their children’s homework. Although it would be arduous for parents who have no background knowledge in that target language to provide any aid, the omnipresence of the Internet around the globe could help overcome this hurdle with ease.

To sum up, despite the potential hassles that both students and their parents may face, learning a foreign language is a necessity due to the undeniable part it plays in children’s future career and its obvious plus points financially.