Scientists say that junk food is harmful to people's health. Some people think that the answer is this problem is to educate people. Others think education will not work. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the modern world, there has been an accelerating trend of people eating unhealthy food, posing harmful threats to their health. While some people regard education as an ineffective measure to resolve the problem. I would contend that this practise would serve as a workable solution to tackling such a situation.

There is a common belief that education would not be an effective method of deterring people from consuming a large amount of junk food. Supporters of this view might argue that the modern living style is the root of this issue, which would not be efficiently addressed by education. For example, there are many intellectual officers in favour of fast food due to its convenience and portable manner. Despite their profound nutrition related knowledge and awareness, these busy consumers opt for fast food for the sake of time-saving. Besides, there are other efficient solutions to curbing junk food consumption. For instance, the government could impose higher taxation schemes on junk food. By raising fast food prices, such as a strict legal action could yield immediate and widespread effects on consumer behaviour. Thus, bringing forth a quicker decline in junk food consumption compared to education .

However, I would strongly endorse education as an effective key to the junk food overconsumption problem. The primary reason is that an appropriate education would efficiently raise eaters awareness which may act as a deterrent to people’s opting for unhealthy food. For instance, once people gain insightful knowledge and awareness of life-threatening cancers and diseases caused by overeating fast food, they would be more likely to put an end to such a harmful eating habit. Another supporting reason is that nutrition education programs, compared to other measures such as imposing higher tax could result in more sustainable awareness and behaviour change among people from all walks of life, especially children and adolescents. These beneficiaries will cultivate a life-time habit of refraining from junk food or restricting such intake.

To sum up, although there are reasonable arguments against education, I firmly believe that educational measures would significantly mitigate junk food consumption and deter the problem from being exacerbated further.