Some argue that the increasing use of technology in education is beneficial for students, while others believe it can have negative consequences. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The rising adoption of technology in education is believed to have a number of benefits, whereas concerns regarding its negative impacts on students are emerging. Therefore, this essay aims to give insights into both sides of the argument, and provide the author’s point of view.

Inarguably, ever-developing technology has innovated mainstream education significantly. In particular, students benefit the most due to their quick adaptability to rapid technological transformation. Nowadays, knowledge is much more affordable and accessible on the Internet, which creates a level playing field for virtually every student to develop their intellect. For instance, instead of reading books extensively or seeking high-quality tutors to look up information, they simply search Google or even prompt modern AI chatbots such as ChatGPT to find exactly what they are in need of in a matter of seconds. As a result, these highly adaptable and knowledge-rich students are more likely to have a better future career without too much investment in time and money.

However, overconsumption of technology in studies may hinder students’ creativity and problem-solving capability. Whenever students face difficult assignments or homework, they immediately seek solutions from Google or ChatGPT without any deep thinking involved. Consequently, their brains are becoming lazier and more passive, and they are prone to poor performance in exams. Moreover, given more jobs are being replaced by AI, leaving some nowadays that require innovative employees that can contribute unprecedented values to their companies, the lack of creativity, problem-solving mindset and knowledge depth caused by excessive use of technology typically leads to higher unemployment rate.

Based on what I have discussed above, from my perspective, technology should still be exploited, but in moderation to utilize its advantage to the full while mitigating its underlying consequences on students. In this way, students can keep up with the vast knowledge while solving real-world problems competently and creatively.

In conclusion, the essay has mentioned the benefits and drawbacks of technology use in education, as well as providing the author’s own opinion on how it should be used.