Some argue that the primary goal of education should be to prepare students for the job market, while others believe it should focus on fostering critical thinking and personal development. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

What is the main goal of education in modern society?

This piece will look at whether educations focus in contemporary society should be preparing students for the workforce or if the focus should be on personal development and critical thinking. In my view, schools should ensure they cover all of these important areas as students need to be well rounded individuals capable of adapting in the modern world.

Education up to the high school level in Western societies seeks to give students the basic knowledge and skills necessary to be a functioning and productive member of society. They learn about the history of the world, basic mathematics, geography, languages and various subjects with some time given to social and political education. A basic education of knowledge and skills does not prepare students for the real world and the workforce. In the 21st century with the development of Artificial Intelligence and advances in machinery. Due to a shrinking workforce, students need more than to be prepared for the job market as this is always changing. Students must have the capacity to pivot as needed when employment opportunities do not go their way. This would be achieved through ensuring that students receive lessons around their personal development and critical thinking as this would help them to be more resilient and adaptable.

In my opinion, high schools should include more practical skills classes in their teaching. As society is constantly growing in numbers, we need more people working in the construction industry. If high schools were to bring in more availability of practical or technical skills for teenagers, this may result in a greater number of children entering the workforce without the need for higher education. Practical and technical skills can be refined further in the workforce through apprenticeships. If schools dedicate adequate time and lessons to ensuring children are supporting to develop socially, emotionally and to think critically, these students go on to be more well-rounded individuals compared to students who receive an education focused more on them entering the workforce. The students with skills and knowledge may be less adaptable and less capable of thinking for themselves. This in my opinion would not make for a good employee in a job.

In conclusion, a well-balanced education system should include all the fundamentals of what a child needs to be prepared for the world after school and not just the workforce. This includes not only general knowledge and skills but fostering their personal development and critical thinking skills which will go towards supporting them in their working life.