Some businesses observe that new employees who just graduated from a college or university seem to lack the interpersonal skills needed for communication with their colleagues. What could be the reason for this? What solutions can help address this problem?

It is observed that new employees who just completed their college or university studies are likely to have a problem in communicating with other colleagues due to their lack of interpersonal skills. The reasons why they lack communication skills are countless, but the lack of practical experience and the inadequate assessment system of universities and colleges play a significant role. To address this problem the government with higher education institutions.

One of the major reasons for the lack of interpersonal skills of new employees is their lack of practical skills. In other words, most universities and colleges require to gain theoretical knowledge rather than practical skills like communication, public speaking, and negotiation. As a result, students who do not gain enough these skills struggle to communicate other employees in their new job atmosphere. Another factor contributing to this issue is imperfect assessment system of higher education institutions. For example, most universities and colleges assess students’ learning and performance through using tests, writing exams instead of group work and projects. Consequently, students could not have to learn enough how to form interpersonal skills.

However, there are viable solutions for this problem. First, the government add subjects teaching students the foundation of healthy communication to university curricula and universities should organize speaking clubs for students to share their opinions, experiences. This measure would help students to communicate more. Another way to combat this issue is by fixing inadequate assessment system. Specifically, universities should measure and observe students learning process through group project assessments as well as writing exams and tests. Thus, in turn, create the atmosphere for students to work together sharing their knowledge with each other. The sooner the government and universities implement these measures, the less new employees will experience difficulty to bond with their colleagues.

In conclusion, the lack of interpersonal skills of new employees who just graduated universities and colleges is the direct result of the shortage of practical experience and imperfect assessment system in universities, but the government and universities can address these problems.