some children find some subjects such as mathematics and philosophy too difficult to learn. so some people argue that those subjects should be optional rathan than compulsory. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Mathematics and philosophy works with finding the underlying workings and meaning behind the universe. Mathematics teaches the formulation of proof and concepts and philosophy deciphers the meaning behind social relationships through theories. It is difficult to agree or disagree with the entire statement. However, I believe mathematics should be compulsory for children and philosophy should be optional.

There are adequate reasons behind why maths should be compulsory for students. First of all, maths is the basis of all other subjects. Physics, chemistry and other necessary subjects can be a used by student with proper literacy in maths. Secondly, mats can make children smarter as it teaches them to think critically. Moreover, if math is not taught from an early age , then the phobia some children have off maths will grow when they get older.

Furthermore, if maths is studied in school then, it will open doors to many interesting subjects and careers. Many in famous and profound universities in Canada and Australia require the knowledge of maths till senior secondary level. Many high-paying jobs require analytical thinking which only those children who have a good mathematical base can fulfill. Therefore, maths should be compulsory in school.

On the contrary, philosophy can be made optional because of many reasons. Firstly, children are too young to understand the complexities of human relationships. Children can learn from their parents and teachers about social characteristics and relationships informally by observing them. Secondly, philosophy is a rather easy and boring subject than other subjects.So, making it compulsory will result in burdening the young children by adding to their pressure. However, those who are interested in acquiring knowledge about the subject should be given an option of studying it.

To conclude, it can be said that maths should undoubtably be compulsory and philosophy should be optional as maths is this is needed to survive in this era of technology Where as philosophy can be left for college students.