some children find some subjects such as mathematics and philosophy too difficult to learn. so some people argue that those subjects should be optional rathan than compulsory. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Mathematics and philosophy seek to find the truth behind the underlying workings and meanings of the universe. Mathematics teaches the formulation of proofs and concepts, and philosophy teaches the theoretical basis of our social organization and social relationships. It is difficult to agree or disagree with the entire statement. I believe that math should be compulsory in school even if students find it difficult, but philosophy can be made optional. A number of arguments surround my opinion.

There are many reasons why mathematics should be a mandatory part of school curricula. Firstly, math is the basis of all other subjects. Children need to be taught numeracy from early childhood. Secondly, the knowledge of mathematics makes children smarter as it teaches them to think critically. If math is not taught, then the phobia Some children have a mathematical ability that will be even more pronounced when they are older.

Moreover, if mathematics is studied in school, then it opens doors to many interesting subjects and careers. Many good universities and colleges in Canada and the USA require knowledge of mathematics till senior secondary level. Many high-paid jobs require analytical thinking, which only those children who have a good mathematics base can do. Therefore, mathematics should be compulsory in schools. The onus is on the teachers to make it interesting for the students.

On the other hand, philosophy can be made optional because of many reasons. Firstly, school children are too immature to learn about the complexities of human relationships. They can learn those social skills from parents and teachers in an informal way just by observing them. Secondly, philosophy, the subject, would be too boring and would only add to the burden of the students. As it is. Today’s children are overburdened with tough academic subjects to make them competent enough to be a part of the global village of today. So, only those who are really interested in studying philosophy should be given the option of studying it.

To conclude, it can be reiterated that mathematics should undoubtably be compulsory, but philosophy should be optional, as mathematics is needed to survive today in this area of technology, whereas philosophy can be left for college or university students. That is why, perhaps, in our Indian school curricula, mathematics is compulsory, but philosophy is optional, and that too in the senior secondary classes.