Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city center. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis and metro on vehiclefree days. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

On vehicle-free days private vehicles are prohibited in the city centre, where only public transportation is permitted. Although it can result in inconvenience in traffic, the merits, from my perspective, are more than the drawbacks.

To commence with, limits on private transportation literally bring inconvenience to various aspects of society. For example, the freight of raw materials may be delayed because there is no truck to load a huge amount of goods, to a great extent influencing the growth of some industries. Additionally, people whose job needs frequent travelling from one place to another will find it inefficient to commute by public vehicle, which means losing valuable opportunities during their commute time.

Granted, the inefficiency caused by the lack of private vehicles should not be neglected, but the profits are also invaluable. Environmental contamination is the primary issue the current society encounters, to tackle it needs the joint effort of both government and individuals. And it is exactly what the vehicle-free day aims at. For instance, taking public transportation rather than private one can drastically reduce the emission of carbon dioxide, consequently curbing global warming. Moreover, the main idea of vehicle-free days is not to use public transport itself, on account of the fact that the special activity only lasts several days, meaning the decline in pollution can to some extent be ignored in proportion to that produced in the whole year, but to arouse people’s awareness of protecting environment and advocate taking public transport in the future days.

In conclusion, the advantages of the prohibition overweigh the disadvantages. On top of that, if the government can enforce some more flexible laws to reduce the impact of disadvantages by allowing some special cases like emergency situations, it would be a more feasible measure to combat the environmental issue.