Some countries achieve international success by building specialized facilities to train top athletes instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Is it a positive or negative development?

Some nations gain global success by providing specialised equipments to train top athletes instead of providing sport materials that everybody can use. I opine this is a negative development because it creates restrictions and there’s no benefit accrue to untrained athletes.

On the one hand, providing specialised facilities for solely trained staffs cause inferiority complex to those untrained as they are demotivated and feel irrelevant. A survey carried out in United Kingdom vividly shows that 70% of sport athletes are being restricted to specialised infrastructures which will make them not to put in more effort In training both at the national and international level. Further, there is no reward accrue to untrained athletes as top trained staffs are solely giving the opportunity to use provided equipment.

On the other hand, providing specialised equipment for top trained athletes will inspire them to put in more effort which will make them achieve more success in their field of sport and make them feel significant. For example, when an athlete is opportune to make us of certain provided equipment he will feel inspired and motivated to do more.

In a nutshell, providing specialised equipment has led to high success rate in some countries as it inspire their top athletes to perform more. However, it has also caused untrained sport athletes to feel neglected and restricted. I recommend that everyone should be given equal opportunity In using provided sport equipment which will benefit the full team in return and make them achieve high success in their field of sport.