Some educationalists say that every child should be taught how to play a musical instrument. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary society, many educationalists believe that it is necessary to teach children to play a kind of instrument. Despite several benefits, this essay disagrees with that notion and will be explained as follows.

To begin with, the children’s schedule at school is now overwhelmed with numerous assignments and homework. Therefore, forcing them to learn a musical ability gives them more and more stress and tension. Moreover, there are lots of crucial skills that each child has to learn and master them, one of which is the problem-solving skill. For instance, if students had a thirst for having a high-paying job, they would be required many qualifications that relate to academic knowledge. For that reason, children should spend more time not only on their studies but also on academic subjects such as Math, Literature, or Science.

However, this trend also has some advantages which allow pupils to equip more skills for their own lives. Due to the fact that knowing how to play an instrument, students can obtain more knowledge about the music field. This helps them to have a broaden image to music and to have an ear for enjoying the melodies and songs of this kind of art. In addition, playing a musical instrument can enhance the brain’s ability. For example, some surveys have shown that playing the piano or the guitar could have a significant impact on children’s memorizing ability.

To conclude, despite some benefits of obtaining the knowledge to play an instrument, I still argue against the given statement because there are also numerous reasons that I choose to do so such as putting more stress on them while they have to master other vital skills and subjects.