Some old people today struggle with the use of modern techonologies such as smartphones and computers. What is the cause of this? What are some possible solutions?

as technology continues to advance rapidly, many elderly people are finding it difficult to catch up. In my opinion, this is a result of a lack of exposure to electronic devices and education on the theory behind new technologies, which can both be remedied by free workshops for older people.

Firstly, it might be the case that elderly people do not have a need for electronic devices. Since they have lived most of their lives using older technologies, they might still resort to less advanced ways of doing things in order to get by. As a result, elderly people might be less exposed to incrementally more advanced technology every year, as opposed to age groups such as Gen Z, who have grown up alongside the outburst of new devices and the internet.

Thus, I believe that since a lack of awareness about both the purpose and ins and outs of new technology, government programs in the form of classes and workshops could be used to help familiarise old people with these technologies. This might be able to take the form of theory classes as well as hand on engagement with devices. This has been tried and tested in many countries such as the UK, and have shown great success at improving elderly technological literacy.

In conclusion, I have highlighted the reason why many older people have failed to keep up with changing machines, and why an information campaign in the form of workshops and classes could be the solution.