Some people advocate death penalty for those who commited violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society

Certain people believe that the death penalty is necessary to secure society efficiently, while others state that capital punishment is inadmissible for modern society.

The death penalty can be considered as inappropriate and violent for several reasons. First, we have no right to murder other humans. The right to life is a basic human being and we cannot infringe human rights. Moreover, innocent people can be executed by a simple mistake. It is unfair to put person under death sentence until we are completely confident that we are not taking away an innocent life. Also, criminals can repent of commited crime, and in this case, they may deserve a second chance to improve themselves.

However, capital punishment can be useful, for instance, in keeping contemporary society safe by preventing major crimes. The best way to stop a person from committing a crime is to show consequences of breaking the law. Also, it can restore the equilibrium of justice in the world. Criminals have to be judged by the level of the crime committed. The less popular argument is about amount of expenses on prisoners. It is true that majority of countries spend a big part of budget into prisoners’ maintenance. Instead, we could use such amount of finances for development of for example, education in our countries.

To conclude, there are many disadvantages of capital punishment, and I partially agree with them. But I personally see more benefit from the death sentence, and I suggest that it can affect justice in the world by controlling criminals’ mindset.