Some people advocate the death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of the death penalty and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The topic in question is whether death penalty for crimes above a certain degree should be acceptable or not. There is no straightforward answer to this question as there are two sides to the coin. While death in itself can be the ultimate form of punishment some can also argue that absolutely no one has the right to make a decision on a person’s existence.

Capital punishment is something that has been followed for thousands of years from the earliest human collaborations to the most modern form of governments although it can be observed that over time the bar set for the danger of the offence commited above which the convicted is to be killed has been raised continuously. Fear of death is the ultimate form of fear for any living organism and certain crimes can only be stopped if people are aware of the consequences. The basic instinct of survival will not allow them to carry out such a deed. Moreover, for criminals who become the reason for the destruction of another person’s life, it is only fair that they should also be met with the same fate.

However, in a contemporary society where we strive to make the world a better place, taking someone’s life is considered a very primitive style of dealing with issues. The most productive method would be to dedicate the accused person’s life for the betterment of society and restrict them off their free will. Also, a general but controversial opinion is that ending of life is considered as the easiest escape and that the wrongdoers who deserve that should actually be tortured for the rest of their lives.

Overall, there is no clear answer to this question but if the judicial system implements a law where such individuals are kept as servants of the society for life without any independence it can be considered the best of both worlds. Once a wise man said ” When all doors are closed, death is the easiest escape.”.