Some people argue that it is not wise for an industry to replace its experienced but old workers with new and young yet inexperienced individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a growing heated issue regarding worker replacement in the industry among some people who believe substituting aged but experienced employees for new and youthful individuals is unwise. I agree that the replacements should take place eventually, and it is inevitable, but the transition should be considered carefully.

Experienced employees have a more work-efficient balance, hence this particular reason most likely than not, could contribute more surplus to the industry because saving time means saving money. Apart from that reason, an aged worker could also be slowing the production process in the industry because of inevitably limited stamina due to aging as opposed to employing fresh and youthful individuals. For instance, an aged worker can’t stand for a long period due to a decrease in strength, so taking a few breaks is required. On the other hand, with good guidance, a young employee could accomplish more tasks considering having better strength and stamina.

Meanwhile, the opportunities available for young people are limited. It is due to companies only open job vacation just a few times a year, and mostly prefer more on candidates with certain experience concerning the job description. Fresh and young yet experienced are setting the bar standard too high, hence it would be easier for companies to lay off the older workers to substitute with the youngsters. Also, it could be seen as an investment to the companies by employing and guiding young people to adapt to the workforce so when it’s the golden time for the new employees (finally adjusting well in the workplace), the work efficiency would be maximized.

In conclusion, the replacement of older workers with young individuals might be seen as an unwise decision, but the event should happen regardless. The transformations in the workforce ought to be done in a careful manner and rightfully, therefore the older employees and the youngsters have time to prepare the retirement and adjustments to the workforce, respectively.