Some people believe that a crime is a result of social problems and poverty, others think that crime is a result of a bad person’s nature. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views regarding the factors that lead to crime. While I tend to lean towards the viewpoint that bad innate characteristics are responsible for this situation, I am more convinced that it is largely a consequence of social issues and poverty.

On the one hand, the negative nature of individuals is an important factor leading to a rising crime rate. Firstly, it is certainly true that a person with bad qualities is more violent and may more easily embark on a criminal path than someone with normal characteristics. For instance, from an educational perspective, those who bully students and typically intimidate the weaker ones are more likely to be found guilty of breaking the laws in the future. Furthermore, people who possess a sense of laziness and greediness can easily turn to a life of crime by becoming lawbreakers in order to acquire easy money instead of making an honest living. For instance, there has been a growing tendency for young adults to take illegal actions by confiscating another person’s property.

On the other hand, I concur with those who argue that social problems and poverty are the primary reasons associated with the strong passion of people for the increase in crime rate. For example, adolescents tend to emulate future wrongdoers as a result of the negative impacts of prisoners whom they know. Another key factor is that people suffering from numerous difficulties due to being in poor conditions may decide to commit serious offenses. If people do not have enough money to make ends meet, they may be tempted to become involved in criminal lifestyles just to meet their families’ financial needs.