Some people believe that education and healthcare should be free of charge and funded by the government. Others think that it should be the responsibility of the people to pay for these services. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A healthy and educated society is the backbone of any successful nation. However, whether the government or the citizens should take charge of the fee is still a controversial topic. From my personal perspective, I strongly believe that both the government and citizens should take responsibility for these services for two main reasons. Foremost, the entire society benefits, and secondly the whole population is currently paying for their healthy life and being well-educated. However, if one prefers extra services they should be prepared to pay for it themselves.

Essentially, education is largely considered as a basic right. A country is unable to join the race of the global economy if its citizens do not have an environment in which they can access ground knowledge such as how to calculate, read, write. Knowledge is currently one of the criteria besides information and science to assess the level of globalization of a wealthy nation. Therefore, a state education should be freely available to every citizen. In contrast, people who wish to purchase private education should also be allowed or even encouraged due to its reduction in the strain on public services. Moreover, this provides a source of tax revenue for the government so that it could subsidize state education.

Furthermore, health services are undoubtedly free to all citizens because of its importance to one’s life. On the other hand, public healthcare centers can be overloaded due to the large number of patients and the lack of doctors, nurses and healthcare equipment. This leads to hundreds of emergency circumstances can not make it. Sometimes, people have to wait all day long – which is so time-consuming- just for a check up and services are occasionally slow. Hence, some citizens purchase private medical insurance for a faster service. This reduces the workload for the public sector.

To conclude, I believe both healthcare and education are basic fundamental rights, necessary for any advanced society, and, therefore, the responsibility should lie with the government. Nevertheless, if individuals require more than the standard level, then they should be prepared to pay for it