Some people believe that it is important to spend a lot of money on family celebrations. While others think it is a waste of money. Discuss both views. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The amount of money to spend on family ceremonies is still debatable. Some people argue that it is of paramount importance to invest lots of funds on family parties. On a contrary, another group of people believe it is just a wastage of resources. This essay will discuss both sides of the coin. First it will give an explanation of the pros of throwing a lavish party. Thereafter, the drawbacks of organising big family cerebrations will be highlighted.

First and foremost, large family celebrations provide an opportunity for memebers to socialise. Wheras most largely funded parties involves many attendees, this encourages family to meet and interact in addition to catching up and obtaining updates about each other. For example a vast majority of families spend lots of funds on Christmas parties because this is the period for members to meet and have chats all day. Thus it is key to hold such great occassions.

However, large parties involve investingv big sums of money which could consquently leave the organisers in debt. Often times, throwing such gatherings take up a significant proportion of savings. For instance, in Uganda a wedding ceremony hosts on average 300-500 people which may cost approximately UGX 300 millions. As a result, many youths shy away from officialising their unions and in the end stay together unmarried for years. Furthermore, recently many couples have obtained loans to finance their weddings. On the grounds above, I do assent that some family celebrations are a wastage of money.

In conclusion, discussions on whether to spend lots of money on family celebrations or it is just a wastage of money is still debatable. On one hand such family parties are essential for members to socialise. On the other hand, organising massive ceremonies may leave organisers in debts while others go to an extent of obtaining loans to fund the lavish get togethers. In my own view, I believe people should organise parties they are able to afford.