Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature of their own country than other countries. Do you agree or disagree?

It is considered by some that teaching children the literature of their motherland is superior to teaching them poems of other countries. From my standpoint, when educating youngsters, both native literature and abroad one play essential roles, since motherland literature helps offsprings to not forget cultural traditions and abroad one expands child’s worldview and countries’ relations.

On the one hand, teaching children their own country’s literature prevents the fade of ethnicity’s identity. To elaborate, once pupils read the native poems, they observe traditions of the place, where they were born and consequently follow them. Therefore, they prosperously inherit these conventions to the next generations, which keeps nation’s identity alive. Furthermore, knowing own country’s literature will help students to not screw up on some international quizzes, when it comes to talk about motherland’s art. According to statistics, individuals who learned native literature at school tend to succeed in career to 76% more than those who did not.

On the other hand, teaching young generation foreign poems expands their horizons and further improves international relations. In other words, when students learn abroad art at school, they get informed about cultures of other countries and then, they are aware of other countries’ traditions. It also positively affects on relations between numerous number of countries and reunion them. A recent survey conducted by The Times reported that in republics, where foreign literature was provided, businessmen tend to succeed in international based fields.

In essence, while teaching children native poetic art should be the priority, tutoring them over-seas literature cannot be entirely overlooked, as it contributes to the building comprehensive minds of youngsters and developing relations between nations.