Some people believe that it is wrong to keep animals in zoos, while others think that zoos are both entertaining and ecologically important. Discuss both views.

Some people believe that keeping animals in captivity is a requirement for education, and is a way to prevent species from extinction, whereas others contend that keeping animals confined is unethical to keep animals caged. I believe that animals should be kept in captivity but zoos should limit the number of animals they take.

On the one hand, supporters of zoos argue that keeping animals in captivity is necessary for education and conservation. When animals are housed in controlled environments, scientists and researchers are able to closely examine the animals which helps us to safely identify their habits, and to easily learn about their biology. By keeping animals captive we can understand how to keep the animals healthy, which can help with conserving animal species. For example, a breed of monkeys is endangered, zoos can provide a safe environment for breeding programmes, and gradually help restore the population. In the long term, zoos offer a place for learning, research, and a place for animals to be kept safe.

On the other hand, opponents contend that caging animals is immoral. One significant reason for this argument is that animals are far away from their natural habitats, and have to survive in a limited area that simulates their habitat partially as zoos isolate most of their animals. Furthermore, since animals will be in solitary confinement, they will lose their survival abilities such as looking for food, fleeing, searching for shelter, etc. These abilities may be weakened, and if animals were captive and later brought back to the wild after a long period, they would have a lower chance of survival.

In my opinion, neither extremes are ideal. Although zoos can provide valuable opportunities for research and education, long-term captivity may harm animals by reducing their natural survival skills and interfering with natural population dynamics. To strike a balance between ethical concerns and conservation goals, zoos should focus on housing a limited number of animals in spacious enclosures that closely replicate their natural habitats. This approach allows scientific study and education while minimizing harm to animals.

In conclusion, although zoos are the safest way to learn about animals, and a place that could help prevent extinction, it shouldn’t be ignored that zoos create a limiting environment for animals, simultaneously weakening their capabilities. As a result, zoos should limit the number of animals, and create a more natural area for the species.