Some people believe that modern technology is making people more sociable, while others think it is making them less sociable. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people argued that the ability of human beings to socialize with others improved by the access to technologically advanced applications and features while others believe it adversely affects interpersonal connections. In this essay, I would discuss both schools of thought before proposing my perspective on the impact of technology on the relationships of people.

On the one hand, this controversial debate covered some reasons that can explain why some inhabitants advocated the technology applications in people’s life could ameliorate their ability to socialize. In the past, whenever humans were divided by geographical distances, their relationships could not be maintained due to the lack of communication methods. Therefore, the associations between people were restricted, critically, partly leading to cultural differences which contributed to the collapse of interpersonal connections and insufficient relatives information. However, as our world becomes globalized and interconnected by applying cutting-edge technology, for instance the Internet and networking methods such as telecommuting, people can maintain a connection with anyone they desire while having their social circles expanded to an international level. Thus, using contemporary devices as a tool to strengthen bonds is an effective approach for individuals who were restricted to physical meetings.

Opponents of the previous view, on the other hand, think that modern technology has a dividing effect on the structure of society. High quality relationships require prioritizing effort and time to have emotional interactions in real-life settings, which can be difficult to obtain in the technologically advanced world. As people are too preoccupied with their virtual connections, their ability to concentrate enough on a specific number of correlations has become impaired. For that reason, it might raise various paramount consequences such as personality disorders or depression as a result of escaping from reality. Consequently, despite having our social circles expanded by technology, people could encounter a lack of profound relationships, leading to social isolation and detrimentally impacting their psychological well-being.

In conclusion, although there are mixed opinions on determining the impact of up-to-date tools on our sociability, I believe that it is a double-edged sword. While modern technology can expand our social circles and help us stay in touch with friends and family members, over-relying on them could make our friendships superficial and negatively affect our mental health.