Some people believe that modern technology is making people more sociable, while others think it is making them less sociable. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many individuals declare that people can become more sociable due to modern technological developments, while others argue with the opposite viewpoint. I firmly believe in the latter viewpoint because users may damage their private relationships due to lack of attempts.

On the one hand, people can be more sociable due to technological development because it provides various communication tools. Nowadays, diverse types of smartphones and social media platforms have been developed and published to bridge the gap between strangers and tighten users’ private relationships. Users can utilize it to make new friends through friend suggestions sections and keep in touch with their relatives by adding them to their friends list. Additionally, they can communicate with others through texting and calling features without any distant and time different barriers. As a result, it aids people to become more sociable. For example, people can use Facebook or Instagram to make some new relationships and maintain the closed ones through various valuable features of those apps.

Nevertheless, this development also can lead to the damage of valuable relationships. In this day of age, technological users would pay too much attention to socializing in social media platforms, which decreased their attention to others, especially, for family. In addition, they may not be able to spend enough time and energy to connect with their important relatives, leading to severe damage to it. Ultimately, although they can have multiple unnecessary relationships on the Internet, their important ones in reality may leave and keep them away due to their carelessness. For instance, US teenagers are spending too much time engaging in social media apps such as TikTok or X. Consequently, they cannot keep their mind and energy for their family and close friends, which broadens the gap between them.

To sum up, modern technology does support their users to become more sociable since it provides more tools to connect with others. However, if people overuse it and do not spend enough efforts for their close relationships, their social skills will be damaged.