Some people believe that schools should only teach children's subjects which are beneficial to their future career and therefore other subjects such as music and sports are not important. To what extent do you agree or disagree

In today’s world, there is an ongoing debate about whether school children should only be taught subjects that will be beneficial for their future career. Meanwhile, some claim that teaching subjects such as sports and music might not be considered essential to learners. However, I completely agree that young students should acquire knowledge that is relevant to their future career.

To start with, subjects that are directly connected to students’ prospective career may help them prepare for demands of modern occupation markets. The learners who study technical subjects, like astronomy, physics, mathematics, and business, are more likely to be highly valued by employers. This helps them be confident and skilled individuals of their fields with strong foundation before applying for vocations and university programs. For example, in developed countries, namely Germany and Canada, a higher number of students who study biology, chemistry, and mathematics, enter medical and engineering fields

Secondly, although subjects, such as sports, music, and art can be indeed enjoyable and have positive effect on mental well-being, they may not directly contribute to learners’ future professions. Undoubtedly, these subjects often requires higher level of consistency and effort. Therefore, most students are worried about failing, thereby they tend to avoid to learn these subjects. In contrast, young learners who have high interest in these fields, can pursue these enthusiasm outside schools as a hobby or extra activity. For instance, a study in South Korea and Japan revealed that sports and music are offered as optional subjects, as they do not have direct appeal to students’ career pathways.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that schools should merely prioritise subjects that have profound effect on students’ future career pathways, as these fields play pivotal role in modern job markets.