Some people believe that technology has made man more social and others think that it has made him less social. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many people reckon that technology advances have developed the communication skills; however others are more drawn to the idea that it weaken them. While both the decisions have equally valid merits, I personally believe it proves better to make ones less sociable rather than improve one’s interactions.

Admittedly, there are a number of reasons why people are becoming more sociable due to technology. First anc foremost, as global connectivity would be the most potent factor for this, technology given an opportunity to people to communicate across borders. This is because, in a modern era, it is possible to stay in touch with foreigners or even with their friends who are far away. This, as a result, fosters relationships that would have been impossible otherwise. On top of that, another obvious reason can be convenience in communications. Individuals have a chance to message apps, video calls and virtual meetings through advanced technologies which have made connecting with others easier and more frequent. For example, during the COVID-19 pandemic, people gained an access to stay connected with relations because of some tools, ranging from Zoom to Telegram and Facebook. This, in effect, leads to more sociable population.

As much as I acknowledge the points above, I tend to believe that it would deliberate socialising among individuals. One of these is that people are more likely to text overall instead of meeting in person. Case in point, some people pointed out that friends sitting together out engrossed in their smartphones than interacting with each other. This, in turn, contributes to decline in genuine human connections. Furthermore, distraction from real life might be main factor for this phenomenon. Since not only can addictive nature of technology distract people, but they are also used to utilise their devices during meals and gatherings. As a consequence, the more technology is used by humans, the lower rate of communication skills they obtain.

In conclusion, while some people are in favour of being sociable through technology advances, I am of the opinion that it is less beneficial to build relationships since it can cause reduced face-to-face interaction and disturbance from real life.