Some people believe that tourism promotes the economy while other argue that tourism destroy the environment. Discuss both views.

In the modern era, tourism industry is one of the largest industry across the world. There is a growing debates between people regarding this sector where some people argue that tourism industry considerably assist to catalyze the economic growth, while others contend that it is cause environment degradation. This essay will delve into both perspective before offering a balanced view.

On one hand, it is worth noting that tourism industry sustainably fuel the economic growth of a country. For instance, a great deal of traveler come from different part of the place at the tourist place to immerse themselves in its rich culture and natural beauty, resulting in they are compelled to spend their valuable money on accommodations, foods, and transportation. Furthermore, this prominent sector creates the employment opportunities for the local or host people. For example, a survey directed by The Daily Star Newspaper in 2022, published that the unemployment had been widely diminished in the tourist area such as Cox bazar in Bangladesh, accounting for 10% unemployment. Prior to a decade, there was approximately 65% unemployment due to a lack of employment opportunity. Hence, it is needless to acknowledge that tourism industry not merely boost the economic growth in a country but also enhance the employment.

On the other hand, detractors posit that tourism can lead to environmental unsustainability. The consequence of extreme transportation is used by the tourist may cause carbon emission, which turns in air pollution in the environment. Moreover, the rapid expansion of tourist infrastructure often leads to habit destruction and deforestation. Research conducted by a psychology professor, Dhaka University, Sara Khan, pointed out that a wide range of logging companies had cut numerous trees for the construction of hotel and motels for the tourist in the tourist place. Besides, tourist tend of destroy and harm the elements of the tourist place instead of maintaining the codes of conduct to preserve it.

In essence, despite the potential drawbacks, tourism can drive the economic growth in a notion through its attractive elements. Simultaneously, the environmental threats can be tackled by taking several measures by the government and enhancing the awareness among the tourist.