Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is an ongoing notion that students at high school should do free community service for the government as a part of the curriculum. These services include working for a charity, teaching sports to younger children etc. Nevertheless, I fully disagree with this belief and will present its possible disadvantages.

With the free usage of young labour by the government, there will arise a problem when many jobs lose their value, such jobs as coaches, teachers etc, because these positions will be covered by unpaid labour and this will eventually make these jobs lose their market value. Moreover, it is also important to consider that these so-called workers would not be motivated under these circumstances if their work was undervalued. For example, in the Soviet Union, various obligatory services forced the youth to work under dismal conditions without pay. Hence, many teenagers preferred to avoid such jobs by various means, afterwards the national committee resolved this problem with the closure of the programme.

Moreover, the implementation of such programme will be a headache for scholars owing to the fact that many people feel pressurised in high school by exams and the transition to full-time work. Therefore, this measure will only aggravate the existing problem by putting unnecessary responsibility on their shoulders. In other words, this will not alleviate the existing problem, as the consequence of such measures, it will only create new problems that will emerge eventually in the long term.

In conclusion, considering all the previously mentioned information, it would be reasonable to say that such measures will only aggravate pre-existing issue.