"Some people believe that your personality doesn't change over time. To what extent to do you agree with this idea? Give specific examples to support your opinion."

It is believed that the characteristics and identity of an individual will remain the same regardless of time. While I admit that parts of one’s personality are the basis of who he or she really is, therefore, are unchangeable, there are many aspects of the character that will alter, reflecting the living environment and condition.

On the one hand, some aspects of an individual’s personality remain static regardless of age. It can be some certain features that have genetic basis that he or she was born with. There will always be kids that are naturally more outgoing and sociable than the others, which will be relatively unchanged as they get older. Another factor that partly contributes to the stability of one’s personality is the early experience of that person. The first reaction may leave a huge impact on a person’s mindset and set up a particular personality, which are unlikely to change over time. So, some parts of personality may be sort of stable over time, although the level can have some small fluctuations.

On the other hand, some elements of personality can be thoroughly changed depending on the specific environment and stage of life due to various factors. First, education can have considerable effects on one’s personality. As an individual gets older and has access to higher education, he or she can explore many knowledge and skills that can totally change that one’s beliefs and behaviors, leading to a new personality. Second, the personality can vary in accordance with the relationship a person is in. Studying with well-educated classmates or working with highly experienced colleagues can significantly transform a person into a much more composed and determined individual. Besides, there are many other reasons for the change of one’s personality such as life experiences, health and aging.

In conclusion, there are many different aspects of personality that can be changed over time, while some will remain relatively stable. I believe that each person should balance the stability and adaptability in personality, always willing to change their personality to fit the circumstances, but also preserve the identities that define us.