Some people dislike changes in their society and in their own lives, and want things to stay the same. Why do some people want things to stay the same? Why should change be regarded as something positive?

There is a tendency among some people, especially older people, to avoid changes in all major aspects of their lives. For example,t hey might have a preference toward living in the same city, going out with the people from the same social circle, and work at the same job for years. This could be explained by their desire to avoid difficulties and uncertainty that brings anxiety. Nevertheless, I think change can make people better in terms of their personal qualities.

I think that people want to keep things the same because they are afraid of uncertainty associated with the change. When people consider to alter something in their lives, they are not sure how it will turn out in the future. For example, if people are thinking of moving to another city, then they might be concerned about how they are going to find a new appartment or new friends. These thoughts ultimately cause stress and anxiety, which people generally try to avoid. By keeping their lives constant, people do not have to think about the future that is full of uncertainty, and thus, they can be happier.

Furthermore, it just might be harder to change something as people become older. People might have established routines, purchased a house or an apartment, and built trusted relationships with colleagues, friends and family. Introducing radical changes such as moving to another city can be much harder at this age. Due to these associated difficulties, people might prefer keeping things as they are.

Despite the associated challenges, changes might lead to overall character development. Oftentimes, people have to learn something new and challenge their old preconceptions to adapt to changes. Besides, they can acquire a lot of experience from them. For example, starting a new activity might introduce you to new people and allow you to make meaningful connections with them. In its turn, this might make them more well-rounded and wiser individuals.

To conclude, I think people avoid changes because they are either difficult to overcome or people are afraid of the uncertainty linked to them. Nevertheless, people can become better versions of themselves by embracing the changes and adapting to new ways of life.