Some people dislike changes in their society and in their own lives, and want things to stay the same. Why do some people want things to stay the same? Why should change be regarded as something positive?

“Change is uncomfortable,” this is an undeniable fact. We as humans have become increasingly attached to our mundane lives and routines. We seek consistency in our daily routines and want to live our lives in specific ways. This consistency creates a comfortable lifestyle that people follow for years and even decades.

Therefore, it has become a norm where a change in society and in their lives is viewed as unnecessary and often repulsive. For example, a person working a 9-5 job sticks to a certain routine which involves going to the same cafe for coffee, catching the same tram every day, and arriving at work at the same time. All it takes is a closure of their favorite cafe or a change in the tram schedule to throw their life off-balance and affect their mood and actions.

This example points to the increasingly fragile nature of humans and our general lack of ability to adapt to life. In primitive times, humans had instincts closer to animals and would do everything in their ability to survive. However, with the overreliance on technology, these instincts have dulled significantly.

I truly love this quote: “Comfort Zone is a great space, but nothing grows in it.” People need to be exposed to changes more often. They need to enhance their cognitive abilities, have a broader perspective on life, and welcome change in a positive manner. There needs to be a transition in their mindsets where they use changes in day-to-day lives to level up. People exposed to a dynamic environment often look at solutions instead of contemplating their problems.

To conclude, I firmly believe that change is a necessary evil. It enables us to broaden our horizons, sharpen our instincts, and helps us look at different situations from a positive lens. If people stop opposing changes in society, we could potentially make this world a better place to live.