Some people feel that boarding schools (where students or pupils live at the school during the term) are an excellent option for children, while other people disagree for a number of reasons. Consider both sides of this debate and reach a conclusion.

There are divergent opinions about what type of school a child should attend. While some individuals opine that boarding houses are the best for children, others oppose the idea on diverse grounds. This essay will delve into the argument and give a concluding view.

On the one hand, supporters of the boarding school idea cite some benefits for children like being independent and being able to make decisions. For instance, a student in a boarding institution is at liberty to define his daily schedules in terms of food, clothing and academic activities. In addition, in boarding schools, children hone their social skills and often exhibit better interpersonal relationships than day-students due to interactions with students from different socio-cultural and ethnoreligious backgrounds.

On the other hand, opponents of boarding institutions think that children will escape from parental guidance and control and I found it hard to ignore this fact. Students may spend several months in dormitories, beyond the range of supervision by parents and guardians and many parents could fear completely losing authority over their wards. Some children could become uncultured and arrogant, disrespecting their parents over a trivial correction for wrongdoing as I recently witnessed in my neighbourhood. Likewise, negative peer influence is rife in residential schools compared to non-residential schools and I think this point is valid to oppose boarding schools being superior to others for children.

In conclusion, though boarding institutions train children to be self-supportive and also improve their communication skills, I do not think these are enough to consider them the best for children. I am convinced that by making schoolchildren susceptible to indiscipline and untoward social pressure, boarding schools are not a foremost option for children.