Some people said ageing population is a problem for governments other people think it will be advantages if there are more elder people

It has been observed that in many countries people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for gouvernements. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. I presume that the benfits of these precautionary actions would surpass its drawbacks to a major extent. My position is elaborated further with reasons and relevant examples.

Examining the brighter side of, the foremost one is that having an ageing population increases the solidarity among young people. The children who grew up with a grandmother or a grandfather tend to be more gentle and helpfull with other individuals which establishes a strong solidarity in the society. Moreover, having an ageing population makes people feel worth living. More specifically, the old population encourages young people to live and enjoy life and to get its benefits as much as possible. For instance, societys which have an ageing population could decrease the anxiety of death among young people beacsaue the can observe that their society contains old people which have managed to live healthy.

Furthermore, the mentioned benefits, firstly the increase of the solidarity by growing up with grandparents and secondly the decrase of anxiety of death among young people could encourage societies to have elderly people.

On the contrary, I would not overlook the downsides. To begin with, having ageing population could cause some crutial problems for the gouverments. For instance, in 2020 when COVID-19 have spread all around the world, some gouverments followed the diminishment policy of the elderly people. In other words, the hospitals in countries like Italy didn’t accept the treatment of old people because they tought that the economy would be better and sustainable with the decline of the ageing population.

To conclude, there are both merits and demerits of having an ageing population. However, I believe that having elderly people is more advantageous because they are the legacy of the society.