Some people say free time activities for children should be organized by parents. Others say that children should be free to choose what they do in their free time. Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is often claimed that parents should plan leisure activities for children in their free time, while others argue that children should have a freedom. This essay will discuss both perspectives before coming to the conclusion.

On the one hand, some people believe that it is necessary in arranging children’s free time for several key considerations. To begin with, it is evident that children do not have enough perception and knowledge to control their activities, whereas their parents gain valuable lessons and experiences in their life. Therefore, it is reasonable that the plan of parents often ensures a sense of safety and stability for children. In the digital age, with the early use of technological devices, children can abuse easily and become addicted without any careness of parents. This consequence causes seriously health problems and cognitive development to the younger generation.

On the other hand, there are also strong arguments in favour of allowing young people to do whatever they want in their free time. One significant factor is that children have their own rights. In certain situations, despite the parent’s careness, children have their personal rights to choose the activities to realize in their recreational time. Therefore, parents should not supervise their children strictly. In addition, the freedom in children’s choice supports them in encouraging independence, and this is one of the main soft skills which is indeed useful for children in their future life. For instance, in the United States, most parents want their children to be free and have their own choice, so they do not control seriously children’s free time. Consequently, it is comfortable for children in reducing pressure and anxiety at school, thus improving their feelings.

To sum up, from my perspective, I am convinced that despite the lack of awareness and experience, children should have an opportunity to decide their activities due to the fact that they have their personal rights and they can enhance their ability to be independent.