Some people say it is more important to plant trees in the open spaces in towns and cities than to build more housing. To some extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that providing green spaces in urban cities plays a vital role compared to erecting new accommodations. Although organising tree-growing campaigns has positive impacts on society, I partly agree with this statement, this essay will give reasons to explain.

Planting more trees is beneficial not only for the health of city dwellers but also for the air surrounding them. It is evident that Oxygen, provided by trees, is absorbed daily by citizens. Without trees, the decreasing level of Oxygen could negatively impact their health, potentially leading to severe diseases such as respiratory diseases. Growing trees, furthermore, could provide us with fresh air and prevent global warming to some extent. For example, the rapidly increasing level of CO2 is attributed to the burning of fossil fuels tremendously. Therefore, planting trees contributes to alleviating the CO2’s level and supplying Oxygen respectively.

Despite the fact that no one can deny the merits of planting trees, building more accommodations is still important to develop commercial activities and the needs of job seekers. There are more and more people moving to big cities to have an advantage of employability which leads to the overpopulation in urban areas. Resulting in more buildings emerging that are convenient for people to live in, and more investments in accommodation facilities make profits for commercial activities. For instance, permitting hiring flat services would be suitable for some demands of individuals and owners could make money from this kind of business.

In conclusion, both planting trees and erecting accommodations are still necessary so I believe that the balance of both will bring benefits for society.