Some people say that all popular TV entertainment programmes should aim to educate viewers about important social issues. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some folks argue that educating viewers about the social problems should be the main goal of famous television channels. I wholeheartedly agree with the above statement that.

To Begin with, in this modern era a lot of people tend to watch Tv for their leisure purposes instead of going out with friends because of which television channels have a great influence on masses. News broadcasters like CNN and BBC have a lot of potential to educate masses by providing day to information about their surroundings. According to the article by World health organization published on the times magazine in 2022 stated that approximately 90% of the households in the world has access to televisions.

Furthermore, Famous broadcasters now a days are for profit organizations and does not have the duty to show educational content. Some channels have created an audience for a particular niche for example, HBO is a channel which broadcast Hollywood movies and series. If they start showing news on their channel they will lose their customer base which would be detrimental for the company. However, they can promote and produce educational films which address social issues. Movie like Slum dog millionaire was a huge hit in the international market and generated a lot of money for the producers of that film, simultaneously it had a great message for the audience watching it. Those are the films that should be promoted.

In conclusion, Channels are niche based channels. News channels will only broadcast news while movie channels are only going to show cast movies. However, all the channels can give educational content one way or the other. I agree with the statement that broadcasters should broadcast such shows that are beneficial for the masses.