some people say that music is a godd way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion

Many individuals believe that music is an incredible way of connecting people from diverse cultures and age groups.I agree with this sentiment because of music’s universal appeal and its ability to create fandoms which bring a sense of community.

Music has a universal appeal that brings people together. Beats, tunes and rhythm transcend language barriers and allow people to groove to the same song even though they don’t speak the same language. For instance, I went to a K-pop concert in New York, featuring the girl group Blackpink, and despite the songs being in Korean, the entire arena was singing and dancing together. A quick glance around the arena would show the diversity in the ages of audiences, the colour of their skin and perhaps even the religions they practiced. Interestingly, the influence of Korean aesthetic could be seen through their outfits, make-up and hairstyle, which suggests a sense of shared identity.

Artists are able to create a shared emotional experience which connects them to their fandom but more importantly connects their fans to each other despite their diversity. This creates a sense of community among strangers. Take Taylor Swift for example. She writes songs that carry a sense of vulnerability in the lyrics and this connects with both 16-year-olds and 60-year-olds, also known as Swifties. This shared love can be experienced and seen when they’re belting a song at a concert, or even at parties, in their cars, or weddings.

In conclusion, music is indeed a powerful tool that brings people of different cultures and ages together through its universal appeal and the communities it creates through fandoms.