Some people say that parents need to spend time on reading or telling stories to children, while others think parents no longer have to do this because there are other sources for stories such as books, TV and the Internet. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people think that parents should read or tell stories to their children. Others, however, feel that children should be able to do this activity on their own using various media sources, such as books or the Internet. While the latter may be sensible to some extent, I am of the opinion that a storytelling session with parents is a precious experience that every child should have.

On the one hand, it is understandable why many people believe that children should be able to read on their own. This is because reading alone helps a child develop important reading skills, like reading comprehension. By acquiring good reading skills, children will be able to perform better at school and later in life at work. Thus, if children start reading early, they will have a competitive edge later on.

However, I believe that the involvement of parents in their children’s reading at an early age is highly significant. First and foremost, the reading experience will be more memorable and motivating if children have their parents’ assistance. For example, some books may contain a number of technical words that children find hard to grasp. By simplifying the terms, parents can offer great help in their children’s understanding. Having parents present also allows children to ask questions and discuss the story afterward. This will enable them to retain the information longer compared to reading independently.

In conclusion, reading independently can be beneficial for children. Having said that, I think if parents are involved in their children’s reading, the advantages can be greater compared to letting children read alone.