some people say that protecting environment is the government's responsibility. Others believe that every individual should be responsible for it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While some people state that it is the government that is responsible for the preservation of the environment, others think that the responsibility should be on every person. While both views are justifiable, I firmly believe that governments and individuals should collaborate in order to achieve this aim.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that the government plays a pivotal role in conserving the environment. It is evident that there are some problems that can only be effectively addressed with the participation and cooperation of the governments, such as global warming or extreme climate events like El Nino. This is because dealing with these natural disasters requires special, sophisticated equipment and technology and a tremendous number of specialised scientists, and only the government can have sufficient funding and resources to carry out these kinds of research. Another reason for this is that the administratives can introduce and enact laws regarding environmental protection and punishment for not obeying the law. This can act as a deterrent against unlawful actions that may directly or indirectly contaminate the environment. Take Singapore as an example, this country’s government has enforced a severe monetary punishment for any individual littering on the streets, regardless of other factors such as nationality or social status. This has had positive impacts on the environmental issues of this country, and currently its capital of Singapore has been titled “The Cleanest City Of The World”.

On the other hand, each individual should also take responsibility and contribute to the preservation of environment. The environment surrounding human beings provides them with fundamental necessities that is irreplaceable to their lives, and if the environment is deteriorated, humanity will be negatively affected. For example, if the air is heavily polluted, people might suffer from respiratory diseases such as throat inflammation or lung cancer. Furthermore, without public awareness on environmental issues and compliance with laws and policies, the object of protecting the environment could not be fully tackled and might lead to failures in the long term. Therefore, it is crucial for individuals to understand their indispensable roles in dealing with the problems facing mankind and participate in order to fulfill the common goal.

In conclusion, while some believe that either the government or individuals should take responsibility in environment conservation, I am of the opinion that joint effort is necessary so that environmental issues could be completely addressed.