Some people say that schools should reward students who show the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvements. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People are divided on the issue of rewarding students for academic achievements. Some support the idea of rewarding pupils who are the toppers, whereas others opine that it is better to reward those who show major improvements. This essay intends to delve into both perspectives. I, however, believe in encouraging both categories of students with rewards.

on the one hand, Those who say that the toppers should be rewarded, give their reasons as follows. They say that the students with the best academic performance should be recognised, because rewarding them will motivate all other students to study hard and achieve the best results. Exams are like a competition, and the winners deserve to be recognized.

On the other hand, there are many reasons why some people assert that the students who have shown marked improvement in their grades should be rewarded. The mediocre students, despite spending lots of time and effort, are still incapable of competing with those having higher IQ. Therefore, it is imperative to acknowledge their effort also. The policy of rewarding them would encourage a wide range of students who persevere and make improvements in their results.

I believe that encouraging all achievers is a must. The achievement of the toppers is visible to all, and should be remunerated with reward. But, the onus is on the teachers to identify the students who show the maximum improvements and encourage them also by bringing them into the limelight. For example, if a student gets 40% marks in first semester exams, but manages to reach 60-70% in the second semester, then he should be given due recognition for his hard work. This would be a better motivation for a wider group of students.

To conclude, it is necessary to reward all achievers – the toppers, as well as the ones showing good progress in their study.