Some people say that the main aim of advertising is to improve sales of products that people do not really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, the topic of advertisement has been a source of much debate. Some people strongly believe that publicity given to the product through commercials is to enhance the sales, due to the less popularity of the item. Personally, I agree with this perspective, and in this essay, i will explain why I hold this view, presenting clear arguments to support my stance.

One of the key reasons I agree is due to the unnecessary spending habit of people for luxury and trending products. This factor is significant because, even though the need for usage of that particular product is trivial, people choose to buy it for showing wealth and popularity. For instance, ads of many premium bags have the same feature as normal one; however, people go for its high end characteristics. This demonstrates that society is more into brands and commercials than the actual application.

Another vital point for my opinion is that they create insecurities among public for certain things, which will make people concerned. This point is relevant because, nowadays, individuals are more concerned about other’s opinion and viewpoints than their own, which will basically lead to an insecure life. A case in point is advertisements of skincare products, like fairness creams; consequently, this ads will place a false image about their skin color. This further solidifies the idea that commercials can bring falsity among individuals, which is later profitable for their product.

In conclusion, considering the various viewpoints discussed, I am convinced that commercials are for improving the sales or profit of items that are in less demand.