Some people say that we do not need printed newspapers any more.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this notion?

The proliferation of online newspapers has raised questions about the importance of printed papers. In particular, it is widely believed that traditional newspapers are no longer necessary in today’s world. From my perspective, I disagree with this statement and my essay aims to clarify my stance.

Admittedly, proponents would assert that conventional newspapers can be replaced completely by online news due to its convenience. This is predicated on the assumption that unlike printed papers, e-papers are not only accessible at readers’ comfort, but they are also updated constantly, which is considered the most pivotal characteristic in this ever-changing world. Nevertheless, such commendable benefits of online newspapers cannot escalate into the disappearance of printed papers. This is because traditional newspapers have been already regarded as the most creditable source of news, rendered by strict censorship before being published. For example in Vietnam, it takes authors as well as the publisher from two to three days to censor carefully a weekly newspaper “Nhan Dan”. As a result, this newsaper has never been criticised for misinformation which numerous online news outlets encounter nowadays. In this view, there might be experienced readers who prioritise conventional newspapers over online counterparts, highlighting the indispensable role of traditional papers in conveying news.

Furthermore, the inextricable link between newspapers production and other fields intensifies the continuing existence of traditional newspapers. Particularly, publishing print newspapers is involved in not only reporters updating or writing the news, but also workers during printing and transportation process. Once conventional newspapers cease to exist, a colossal number of those employees and workers become unemployed, potentially leading to social unrest. Therefore, the new outlets may be cautious about putting an end to a newspaper because of its effects on a grand scale.

In conclusion, despite the convenience of online news, it is imprudent to marginalise traditional newspapers. Credibility and influence on related people can maintain the appearance of conventional newspapers.