Some people say that what children watch on TV influences their behavior, while others say the amount of time children spend watching TV influences their behavior. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is an ongoing debate about whether watching television can affect children’s behavior or whether the amount of time they spend watching is more influential. While the latter notion has valid arguments, I firmly support the former perspective because the majority of programs displayed on Tv are not suitable for children.

To begin with, children are highly susceptible to early puberty when they are exposed to inappropriate programs that are produced for adults. Since a wide variety of these programs are meticulously produced for adults, it can be challenging to have a strict surveillance on what children watch during the day. Moreover, even with thorough observation, the commercials targeted at children can be also destructive, as some of them are extremely tempting, encouraging kids to unconsciously crave food or toys that are either unhealthy or harmful for them. For example, in my country, a new advertisement about cereals aimed at children, has recently proliferated their sales because of the manipulation of children’s minds.

However, it is argued that the amount of time children spend in front of televisions has greater significance on their behavior because it can influence their mental well-being. The inevitable effects of television on children has been investigated for years, and the results suggest that the more time they watch television, the less focused they are at school because their minds cannot properly engage in mentally demanding activities. For instance, after I was compelled to stop watching my favorite show during high school, my mathematics grades incredibly improved, and I could outperform in the final exams.

In conclusion, although there are two opposing opinions regarding the effects of watching television on children’s behavior, I believe that regardless of how much time they spend on this activity, watching television can have a destructive impact on them.