Some people think governments should spend money on faster means of public transport . However, others think money should be spent on other priorities (eg cost ,environment ).Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether money should be spent on public transport or on other more important issues. While faster means of public transport would be a positive measure, I would argue that further investment in other priorities should be made first.

On the one hand, it could be argued that providing citizens with faster forms of public transportation has brought about certain benefits. Firstly, faster forms of transport are said to allow people, particularly commuters, to reduce travelling time to and from work. As a result, people will have more leisure time, and this will lead to an increase in their work productivity. Secondly, by adopting this method, people are less likely to be packed in cramped and hot buses. They will not need to rush to get to work on time or get up so early in order to get a seat on a bus, and therefore, they will have more time to prepare before going to work or school, or to enjoy their breakfast with their family.

However, I believe that spending money on other vital aspects is more important. One of the most pressing concerns is environmental pollution. Despite the convenience that public transportation brings to commuters, more and more vehicles are being used each year and exhaust fumes emitted from those vehicles have exerted a detrimental effect on the atmosphere in most large cities. As a result, people are more susceptible to developing respiratory diseases and other kinds of health problems. Another significant issue is the increasing cost of living, which leaves many people struggling to cope with basic daily needs. If such situations are left untreated, this may lead to a decrease in economic growth, amongst other problems.

In conclusion, despite the advantages of improving the speed of public transport, I am convinced that it is better to spend money on more urgent issues, such as the environment and living costs.