Some people think living in big cities is bad for people's health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Residing in large cities is becoming a choice for numerous people since it offers a lot of benefits. Despite the advantages, some believe that living in big cities impacts people’s health negatively. I completely agree with the statement as the cities are heavily polluted and the easy access to food will affect residents’ eating behavior, which lead to a decline in the public’s health.

Most large cities are extremely polluted due to high levels of carbon emissions produced by private transportation and dangerous chemical gases produced by multiple factories. Daily inhalation of the contaminated air will surely affect the health of the residents, especially the respiratory system. Therefore, living in big cities is not beneficial for well-being. For example, in Jakarta, the number of patients suffering from different kinds of respiratory infections is increasing because the air is contaminated with dangerous substances.

Furthermore, easy access to food is one of the factors of the declining health rate. Various options of food, specifically junk food, could be found everywhere. Therefore, it contributed hugely to unhealthy eating behavior and there is a tendency to eat junk food every day since it is quick and uncomplicated. Of course, this will bring multiple negative effects on the health of people, for instance, obesity or even a heart disease that is caused by a clog in the artery.

To conclude, I strongly believe that residing in large cities will be bad for the public health for 2 reasons. Firstly, most cities are heavily polluted, which harms the respiratory system and secondly, unhealthy eating behavior is caused by the availability of dining places serving junk food that trigger dangerous diseases in the long term, such as obesity or even heart disease.