Some people think living in big cities is bad for people's health. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Although living in big cities can be more appealing to us as individuals, we must be aware of the possible negative challenges it might impose on our health as humans. This essay will argue that whilst living in big cities might be considered as being more pleasurable, the consequences it might pose on our health might be just as significant.

Firstly, it is important to understand that although big cities appear very attractive and more modern, they are developed on structures that discourage physical activities, and this poses as a threat to our health as individuals. For example, in large cities there a faster transportation systems to enable movement from one part of the city to another however, these systems cause the development of a sedentary lifestyle which in turn promotes the development of cardiovascular diseases, thereby undermining the quality of health of individuals.

There is also the challenge of environmental pollution that results from the technologies being used to power the city and from the individuals who live in the city. Researchers have found that the oldest living humans originate from some cities in Asia that have refused to adopt modern technologies or move to more urban settings, they attested to the fact that some of the rural practices helped the individuals live longer and healthier lives than those in the cities.

Furthermore, statistics have pointed out that one of the biggest challenges of individual who live in big cities is their food intake. Results have shown that due to the exposure to fatty and highly sugary meals, those who live in modern cities tend to develop health challenges, inflammation and age faster than others who are not exposed to such meals. This also further contributes to the overall poor health.

In conclusion, whilst more can be said about the health of those who live in big cities, the major question is if living in a big city is worth the health consequences. There is clearly a correlation between living in modern areas and poor health outcomes. Therefore, the government and policymakers have a huge role to play in helping to bridge the gap. Initiatives to help reduce the adverse effects of living in the big cities on health are necessary.