Some people think paying taxes is a big enough contribution to society, while others think people have more responsibilities as members of society than only paying taxes. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is an ongoing debate whether individuals should have more duties than only paying taxes to the society they belong to or not. This essay will explore both viewpoints and argue why it is beneficial to encourage people to have more responsibilities.

Advocates who think that paying taxes is sufficient to society argue that almost every activity, such as consumption and employment, that people do in society charges taxes. These taxes enable government to run essential sectors. Therefore, individuals already played the role they should and the rest is a job must be done by those who are in charge.

However, I believe that it be far advantageous to make citizens serve the society for several reasons. Firstly, it is crucial to make people participate in the various operations within society. Otherwise, there is the potential for government to corrupt or make incorrect choices without the citizens’ sufficient supervision. For example, in Korea, the supreme court are obligated to invite ordinary individuals to observe the judge cases in order to avoid any misjudgment. Secondly, to create a better environment, people are required to respect all the public infrastructures and service. In other words, to keep a decent quality of life in society, there must be parks or public transportations. It can only be achieved when everyone is responsible to use them clean, ultimately creating more advanced environment.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that people should involve in more activities within society. Through this, we can keep fairness and well-being of society.