Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is considered by some that students should be educated about the science of food and the process of cooking, while others hold the idea that solely important subjects must be placed in the curriculum. However, I firmly believe the opinion that pupils should have knowledge about foods and how to prepare them because they provide awareness and self-sufficiency to students.

On the one hand, some people argue that the science of food and cooking is as necessary as other academic subjects such as math and history. It is because, in today’s world unhealthy foods are pervasive in societies, and youngsters are very enthusiastic about consuming them, whereas they are clueless about their detrimental ingredients. Therefore, hazardous eating habits can cause serious health problems such as diabetes. Precisely for that reason, people believe that if students have enough knowledge about substances of food, they can eliminate unhealthy ones from their diets. For instance, the percentage of obesity among children is alarmingly high in the USA because neither children nor adults do not have enough knowledge about the ingredients they eat.

On the other hand, the science of food and cooking is unnecessary. Hence, they should not be placed in education, because children should be able to dedicate all their time and energy to academic lessons to achieve success in their exams. They support their idea with an example of Singapore’s education system success which does not include any food-related subject in their curriculum.

Finally, I believe that the science of food and cooking should be taught to pupils because every student is bound to cook their meals in the future. If they have deeper knowledge about food and cooking, they can maintain their lives without expecting any help from people. More specifically, students who are unable to cook face experience shock during their university education.

In conclusion, while some argue that education in food science and cooking is crucial to protect children from unhealthy eating habits, others consider it a waste of time. However, I strongly believe that equipping students with these essential life skills is fundamental to fostering self-sufficient future generations.