Some people think that a sense of competition should be encouraged in children. Others believe that children who are taught to cooperate rather than compete become more useful alduts. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some argue that people should foster competition among children, while others believe that teaching them to work in groups can be more beneficial to their future. Although challenging each other increases children’s performance, I believe cooperation can help them become better learners.

On the one hand, some think that competing encourages children to make more effort while learning. Trying to outperform others fuels motivation, which makes the child study more, ensures they always do their homework, and helps them prepare better presentations and classroom projects. Competition also creates an environment full of excitement and challenge, which is the same principle used in games. For instance, students perform better when there is a reward that they have to compete for. However, I believe that challenging one another puts a lot of stress on students and does not help them focus on their weaknesses to improve.

On the other hand, there are those who say that it is more effective to teach children how to work in groups because it improves their learning abilities. They work together to build lessons, learning and helping each other to improve. Consequently, they become more independent learners who are able to discover rules and solve problems even without the help of their teachers, who can just monitor instead of being the only source of knowledge. This type of learning helps children acquire a necessary skill that is in demand in the job market, such as the ability to work well in a team. For instance, cooperation helps students retain information longer because they are responsible for their own learning. I believe that this approach simulates real work conditions and prepares children for the future.

In conclusion, although encouraging competition promotes hard work among children, teaching cooperation instead enhances their learning experience.